CLEs & Calendar


A core value of Seattle Select Attorneys is continuous improvement. One way we help lawyers improve is by offering continuing legal education seminars on a variety of topics by a variety of speakers.  Past topics include: estate planning basics, residential real estate, a lawyer's duty to provide pro bono representation, securities law, immigration, and ethics for solo and small firm attorneys. Our continuing legal education seminars are accredited through the Washington State Bar Association.

During most of the year, we meet on the fourth Tuesday of the month at 8:30 am.  In addition to networking, these meetings provide an opportunity to learn at quality, low-cost continuing legal education programs. In addition to specific practice areas, we offer seminars on ethics, professional responsibility, legal research tools, law office management, and marketing professional services.

 

2017 Schedule

Day

Date

Time

Presenter

Topic

Tues 1/24/17 8:30 – 9:45 am Joshua Bam Bad Client!: The Ethics of Refusing Cases and Withdrawals
9:45 – 10:30 am Board Meeting
Tues 2/21/17 8:30 – 9:45 am Val Ohlstrom SPECIAL NEEDS TRUSTS: the History, the Purpose, and the Legal Issues and Practices
Tues 3/21/17 8:30 – 9:45 am Seth Rosenberg Administrative Law Reform in the Era of Trump
Tues 4/25/17 8:30 – 9:45 am Colin Ley and Shreya Ley Asset Protection for Intangible Assets
    9:45 – 10:30 am Board Meeting  
Tues 5/23/17 8:30 – 9:45 am Jonathan Feil Practice Pointers for Trademark Litigation
Tues 6/27/17 8:30 – 9:45 am Carrie Kovacevich TBD re Ethics
9:45 - 10:30 am Board Meeting
Tues 7/25/17 8:30 – 9:45 am Katrina Zafiro Immigration Law
8/17/17 5:00 - 9:00 pm Colin and Shreya Ley? SUMMER SOCIAL EVENT
Tues 9/26/17 8:30 – 9:45 am Hailie Spies TBD
Tues 10/24/17 8:30 – 9:45 am Jeff Smoot TBD
    9:45 – 10:30 am Board Meeting  
Tues 11/14/17 8:30 – 9:45 am James Kotlowski DUI Law
12/2017 6:00 - 8:00 pm Home of Jim Rupp

HOLIDAY SOCIAL EVENT